RLS following Narcotic withdrawals

Please share your experiences, successes, and failures in using non-drug therapies for RLS/WED (methods of relief that don't involve swallowing or injecting anything), including compression, heat, light, stretches, acupuncture, etc. Also under this heading, medical interventions that don't involve the administration of a medicine to the body (eg. varicose-vein operations, deep-brain stimulation). [This forum contains Topics started prior to 2009 that deal with Non-prescription Medicines, Supplements, & Diet.]
Shelley39

RLS following Narcotic withdrawals

Post by Shelley39 »

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this board and found it through an RLS site. I've been reading numerous posts on here regarding suggestions, what works and what doesn't work, but haven't come across my problem.

I am a sufferer of Fibro & have been on Narcotic meds for a long time, such as the Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, etc., but more than ever this last year. When my Dr. was out of the office, I could not get them refilled and she never bothered to tell me she would be out of the office when my refill came due. Grrrr. None of the other Drs. in the office would refill either. So, there I was! But, it was a blessing in disguise, as it showed me just how addicted I had gotten to narcotics, taking numerous pills a day, etc. I also didn't know at the time what I was taking for pain relief was actually making my pain SO much worse from Rebound, etc. I am feeling wonderful & I thank God for no one refilling them! :P

It has been a week and a day since going off the Oxycodone and tapering the addiction with Hydrocodone, however, I've noticed that since last Saturday, I've been plagued with RLS, something I rarely have experienced in my life. I know that RLS is a withdrawal symptom from the Narcotics & not "true" RLS.