Breakthrough Discovery?

Please share your experiences, successes, and failures in using non-drug therapies for RLS/WED (methods of relief that don't involve swallowing or injecting anything), including compression, heat, light, stretches, acupuncture, etc. Also under this heading, medical interventions that don't involve the administration of a medicine to the body (eg. varicose-vein operations, deep-brain stimulation). [This forum contains Topics started prior to 2009 that deal with Non-prescription Medicines, Supplements, & Diet.]
elanorbreton

Breakthrough Discovery?

Post by elanorbreton »

Hi, it's me again (Sleepy Elanor!).

Sorry to keep pestering you lot, it's just that as I am new to it all I'm trying to find out as much as possible. Three more questions, if you don't mind:

I just came across this website called www.restlesslegscured.com/miracle_cure.htm telling me I can be free from RLS if I buy their book! I assume it's a con, has anyone tried it? I tried searching through the forums and couldn't find anything about it, I don't think I've got to grips with searching this forum very well yet.

Also, I've seen a few recommendations for trying 'Restful Legs' by Hylands and wondered if anyone knows how I can get it in the UK. The sites that I have tried say that they only ship in the US or Canada.

Lastly, do many people have much success using a nice warm electric blanket?

Momo

Post by Momo »

Hi Elanor, I don't know anything about the books, but I have had some success with a heating pad. It works even better if i put a damp cloth between the pad and my legs, I quess i benifit from the humidity... idk. Unfortunately, during the summer, the last thing I want to do is apply heat to my body. However, I find that a heating blanket doesn't get hot enough to help, and all it does is irritate my legs even more. I hope this helps you at least a little. ~Momo :)
Never go to a doctor whose office plants have died.

Polar Bear

Post by Polar Bear »