rls problems at work

Please share your experiences, successes, and failures in using non-drug therapies for RLS/WED (methods of relief that don't involve swallowing or injecting anything), including compression, heat, light, stretches, acupuncture, etc. Also under this heading, medical interventions that don't involve the administration of a medicine to the body (eg. varicose-vein operations, deep-brain stimulation). [This forum contains Topics started prior to 2009 that deal with Non-prescription Medicines, Supplements, & Diet.]
res2cue

rls problems at work

Post by res2cue »

I am a professional firefighter and have problems sleeping at work. Are there any brothers/sisters that have experienced this and can give me some advice? The rls seems to be getting worse. Even on a quiet night with no calls, I can't sleep.

Sara

Post by Sara »

Hi, Res2cue--

I don't know of any other professional firefighters on this forum.

You must really be having a tough time. My husband is a professional firefighter, too, and I KNOW how important it is to be able to get to sleep (and back to sleep over and over, if you work somewhere busy! :roll: ) In fact, I've always told him, I could never have a job like his (well, mostly 'cause I'm not strong and brave enough :lol: but also) because about the time I got to sleep, I'd get another call. And for many of us, the more tired we get, the worse our RLS gets... it's a double-edged sword. Anyway, it's something I've thought about, so I think I know a little bit what you're going through.

My RLS is moderate but persistent (often 24/7 the last year or so), but I AM able to sleep (not always well, but I sleep a lot more than a lot of people here. But RLS does tend to progress over time, and mine has. That might be why yours seems to be getting worse.