Relationship between Requip and Raynaud's Syndrome

Share how living with this disease can and does impact your relationships. How do you cope? What questions to you have?
mdeardorff

Relationship between Requip and Raynaud's Syndrome

Post by mdeardorff »

I am 48 years old and have had RLS since I was 21. I started taking Requip last September and it has been great. Shortly after starting Requip I started having numbness in my fingers and toes. The end of my fingers would lose feeling and turn white when I was exposed to cold. The numbness was diagnosed as Raynaud's Syndrome. My question to the group is "Has anyone else had a similar reaction to Requip or has anyone heard of a relationship between the two?"
Thanks,
Mike

ViewsAskew

Post by ViewsAskew »

Not that I know of.

I do have a possible theory - but, remember I'm not a doctor, nor I am trying to scare you. Just passing out some information that may or may not be helpful.

There is a relationship between autoimmune disorders. People who get one are more likely to get another. And, RLS is common with some autoimmune disorders. The one the pops up here the most is Celiac disease. Untreated, RLS is very common - something like 30-40% of those with untreated celiac have RLS. Celiac can have NO symptoms, some, or many. There are over 200 they have identified. Docs don't like to test for it, and the average time to diagnosis is 10 years or so.

Have you any gastro symptoms? Anemia? Odd neurological symptoms like tics? These are just a few of the many ways it can manifest.

Of course, you could just have Raynaud's without anything else. But it's probably worth checking this out just to be safe.
Ann - Take what you need, leave the rest

Managing Your RLS

Opinions presented by Discussion Board Moderators are personal in nature and do not, in any way, represent the opinion of the RLS Foundation, and are not medical advice.

Eruckus

Post by Eruckus »