Do the drugs really help?

Share how living with this disease can and does impact your relationships. How do you cope? What questions to you have?
rlj0863

Do the drugs really help?

Post by rlj0863 »

I was just given a script of Ropinirole and have been staring at it for four days. Finally trying to get my head around the idea that I might have RLS! I have been thinking I am just hyperactive because I can't stop moving around no matter how exhausted. In a permanent state of fidgeting. Is this typical of RLS? Like I can never tire my legs complemented with a fair dose of anxiety most of the time unless I am exercising. I have been taking Trazadone for sleep and do ok on it but not great...thoughts anyone?

Thanks I am new to this world.

Polar Bear

Post by Polar Bear »

Welcome to our site.

We are just sorry that you think you may have RLS.

RLS can occur occasionally, or almost all of the time, depending on its severity. There are 4 essential criteria that are all necessary for diagnosis:

1) A need to move the legs, usually accompanied or caused by uncomfortable, unpleasant sensations in the legs. Any kind of sensation may be a manifestation of RLS and a wide variety of descriptions have been used ranging from "painful" or "burning" to "Elvis legs". Sometimes the need to move is present without the uncomfortable sensations and sometimes the arms or other body parts are involved in addition to the legs.
2) The need to move and unpleasant sensations are exclusively present or worsen during periods of rest or inactivity such as lying or sitting
3) The need to move and unpleasant sensations are partially or totally relieved by movement such as walking or stretching at least as long as the activity continues.
4) The need to move and unpleasant sensations are generally worse or exclusively occur in the evening or night.