hey! My legs do that!

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Reneeteach

hey! My legs do that!

Post by Reneeteach »

I was watching tv last night, and this commercial came on for this site. It started talking about all the symptoms of RLS and I told my husband, "Hey! My legs do that!" I don't remember when it started, but I know I haven't had these symptoms all my life. I always just brushed them off (I think I have a mild case). I figured I wasn't being active enough and that it was just my body telling me to get more excerise. Everytime I experience symptoms, I try stretching my legs. It eases the symptoms a bit, but they never really go away. I'm actually experiencing some symptoms right now, sitting in my chair at my computer.

Anyway, the point is, I'm new to this whole thing and I'm just trying to understand it. I wonder if it may answer why I constantly have to move while at work. Fortunately I'm a teacher, so I really need to be moving around the room all the time anyway.

I don't really have a question. I just wanted to take this time to introduce myself to the board. I can see from previous posts that there are some very supportive people here. Thanks for giving me somewhere to go as I feel this thing out.

Renee

Antsy

Me Too

Post by Antsy »

I'd like to introduce myself as well. 8)

I've been plagued by this disease since I
was a child - as were my mother and my
grandfather . . . and two of my sibllings.

Without a doubt this can thing can drive you
absolutely nuts in a very short time. Learning
that you are NOT the only one certainly helps
doesn't it?

Am I in the minorty in that I get this in both
my arms and legs? The arms are a new thing
which started about 5 years ago. When they
first hit I said to myself: "OK - I'm not living
like this."