Just joined

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Jamie

Just joined

Post by Jamie »

Been dealing with RLS for 15+ years. I am a physical therapist. I have/continue to perform daily stretching and moderate exercise. I have tried epsom baths. Mirapex. Lyrica. Gabapentin (or as I call it, GABA-stupid). Trazadone. IBP. Tylenol. Sleep aides. Massage. Compression hose magnesium supplements. I think that about covers it. Sleep is poor at best (4-5 hours at most, sometimes up the entire night pacing the house and stretching). Again, I know all these treatments have more than likely been tried by everyone in the group. Any other ideas? The idea of just going to sleep at night is unnerving because of the daily symptoms. Thanks

Rustsmith

Re: Just joined

Post by Rustsmith »

Has your doctor checked your serum iron levels with ferritin being the most important? RLS is due to a deficiency of iron in the brain. But even if your ferritin level is over 100 (normal min is 20, so you need to know the number), some of us simply cannot get enough iron across the blood brain barrier.

If your iron levels are fine and because you have already tried Mirapex, Lyrica and gabapentin, then the only thing left would be the opioids. A low dose of an opioid is usually all that is needed to resolve the RLS urges to move. Sometime of us still need to add Lyrica, gabapentin or marijuana (assuming that is legal where you are) to help with sleep. Of course, the challenge with the opioids isn't the med, it is finding a doctor willing to prescribe them and then fighting through all the bureaucracy to get them.