new to RLS, could use some help.

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
scaryloud

new to RLS, could use some help.

Post by scaryloud »

Hello, I'm new to RLS. My symptoms are to the point where I cannot fall asleep at night. I first started noticing this when I was about 25 years old (six years ago). At first I called it "happy legs". It was slightly bothersome but didn't keep me from sleeping. In fact, I knew that "happy legs" was my cue to go to bed. Over time the symptoms have gotten much worse. I never have pain from this, but the irritability of this has increased 10 fold. My toes twitch now and my wife tells me that my legs twitch all night. This only occurs at night for me and when I finally fall asleep, I'm not woken up by it. The occurance is every night as it has always been since I first noticed it. Sitting for long periods of time while driving or watching a movie makes the symptoms appear and I have to keep pressing my foot to the floorboard to aleviate it. I saw a doctor today (for the first time) about this and he prescribed CLONAZEPAM. He also entered me into a sleep study. I'm not sure as to what avenue I should be taking with this and if this doctor prescribed me correct or useful medication. What do I do?

Rubyslipper

Post by Rubyslipper »