New face

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
bbrock

New face

Post by bbrock »

I'm currently a college student majoring in Business Accounting. I've lived with a mild form of RLS my entire life. When I was little my mom would tell me I was excited about something, and thats why my legs would "tingle."

When I got to college it stopped for about a year. Over the past couple of months my symptoms have returned full force. First it was the "tingling," then it graduated to electrical impulses, then uncontrollable movement of my legs. Now my life is being turned upside down by lack of sleep. I currently have a 4.0 GPA and am applying to law school, scared to death i'm not going to be able to get this under control.

I can't stand not having control over myself. Although it's good to know i'm not alone, i'm scared that nothing can help. Does anyone have any suggestions for immediate relief? Even partial relief? Thanks so much.

ksxroads

Post by ksxroads »

You have found a great place to start! So sorry you have to deal with RLS with all you have going on with your education...

Best place to start is the sticky posts in this New to RLS section.

there is a website by Jill Gunzel that has a lot of good information for living with RLS and managing it without medication.

http://members.cox.net/gunzel/rls.html

Hope some of this helps.

Hazel
Opinions presented by Discussion Board Moderators are personal in nature and do not, in any way, represent the opinion of the RLS Foundation.

Music can be made anywhere, is invisible and does not smell. --W H Auden

becat

Post by becat »

Hi Bbrock,
I'm not sure where you go to school, but I got the chance to sit next to a man on the plane a few weeks ago and I think his what you need to look for.