Quinine tablets

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Pip

Quinine tablets

Post by Pip »

I want to pass on the info on quinine tablets that really work for me and have done for 5 years now. A neurologist friend first prescribed them to me to try and now my doctor prescribes them when I need. I am from the UK and told my Mother's doctor about them who told all his patients with RLS and they are all THRILLED. He also told a renowned neurologist on Harley st. in London who was amazed at the results too.
I am not a doctor; just passing on the info. If anyone else is taking Quinine I would love to hear from you.

jumpyowl

Quinine

Post by jumpyowl »

Hullo, Pip:

Your post is scarce of specifics (exactly what is it that you are taking and for what?) but I feel the urge to reply. At least you are not claiming that you found the cure for RLS :wink:

I am not a renowned physician on Harley Street but I am also amazed that quinine helps. This compound besides treating malaria has been used for frank leg cramps for ages such as for charley horses. I would not have thought that it is also helpful for RLS. :?

Can you give us some more details? Such an unexpected result should not be kept a secret. 8)

In my brief experience I was given hydrocodone for RLS. It does help with the pain but it's forte is not getting rid of the deep seated annoying sensation that is so characteristic to RLS. For that one I only use Topamax until my doctor makes up his mind what else besides hydrocodone to give me.

Please let us hear from you!
Jumpy Owl

Pip

quinine tablets

Post by Pip »