I think I'm in this too, can you help me?

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Lisa Mauree

I think I'm in this too, can you help me?

Post by Lisa Mauree »

I am a student in my 1st year of university and have been making use of the professors there to ask about the "jolts of the limbs" late at night and the "urge to move" and they suggested it may be this, I never knew there was a name for it.

As a child I was very active, to the point of being obnoxious, I was in everyones face, running around, jumping on everyone.
I also remember numerous times from a very young age to the present, getting up after hours of lying in bed and cleaning my room, laying out clothes for the next week, or getting dressed in tomorrows clothes, just because I couldn't sit still. I also remember my grandmother telling me to eat lots of nuts because it would help my extreme, painful growing pains.

As I got older I found that when I was sitting around the house my legs would start to ache and were just painful, but it was not a muscle strain pain or anything, it was more internal more as they described here "the thousands of red ants crawling through your legs".

I would try to go to bed and it was just horrible. It was so painful and very weird. I would make small kicking jestures and it would feel better, but only for a little bit, and then I had to start kicking furiously almost like i was running in the bed until my legs felt utterly exhausted.

I have woken up my boyfriend many many times with enourmous jolts in my sleep that feel like i'm jumping a foot off the bed, sometimes its only one limb, others its my entire body and it actually wakes me up. I also get this when I am awake, I can be sitting on the couch and my arm will flex and jolt and I can watch it do this repeatedly.