New to RLS....sensation or actual feeling?

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
wigawamAUSTRALIA

New to RLS....sensation or actual feeling?

Post by wigawamAUSTRALIA »

Hi

I am new to RLS and like a lot of people have self diagnosed myself with it. I have actual constant twitching in my legs (mainly both calves) that looks like insects or worms running through them. I work at a computer and is very noticeable, i also feel it quite a lot when i am lying down on my bed before sleep or on the couch or on the plane.

I have recently started a course of antidepressants called Aurorix (Moclobemide) for anxiety after a bout of dizziness that lasted over a month. I also took anti nausea (stemzine) on and off for for the duration of the dizziness.

With RLS are you supposed to actually get the muscle twitching or just the sensation (perceived vs actual)?? I have had bouts where I have to move my legs but that is on and off (once a fortnight to a month) but have had the calf twitching for going on a month now.

Any help, info, words of advice would be much appreciated.

Peter :?

Keepingstep

Post by Keepingstep »

Wigawam, greetings and welcome to this forum.

It is my understanding that antidepressants can make RLS worse. Perhaps you are experiencing more pronounced symptoms now because of this? Do you notice a cause/effect?

" With RLS are you supposed to actually get the muscle twitching or just the sensation (perceived vs actual)?? "

With RLS you can get both... and I submit to you that there is no measurable subjective difference if it is perceived or actual.