NEW & NEED HELP

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
CarlaJ

NEW & NEED HELP

Post by CarlaJ »

I am new to this, but not so new to RLS. I have had an extremely mild case until recently - and now it has gotten to the point where my husband & I have to sleep separately so at least ONE person can get some sleep. It occurs every night now where before it was occasionally. I have tried the hot baths, several different medications, and even putting bar of soap underneath the sheets as written in a newspaper column by Dr. Gott. Nothing has seemed to help in the last 2 weeks. I don't know what has happened to make this continually get worse, but the last few nights, no sleep - and even to the point of pain. I have read all kinds of information on RLS and have been to my regular physician to get medications, but now those don't even seem to be helping. I would appreciate ANY information/help! Thanks

becat

Hello and welcome

Post by becat »

Hi Carla,
Maybe you could start by telling us what you have tried in the past.
RLS is a progressive disorder. So, if it gets worse it may be part of the deal. Maybe your dealing with an over load of stress lately? Change in eating habits? There could be many reasons it's kicked in. You may know that it's possible that the dose needs to be raised or that you need a "holiday" from the thing that has worked in the past. There are many that trade medications with success. Some medications simply seem to have a time limit for some of us.