New here

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
nightowl

Get me a chainsaw!

Post by nightowl »

Hey folks! I'm new to this rls forum but as usual am up because my legs are controlling my life. I like the phrase "get me a chainsaw" because it sums up the desperation that I feel most of my nights. I'm usually up till 4am because of my leg demons. Sometimes after three or four consecutive nights of rls torture, I stand in the doorway of my bedroom in tears, listening to the train whistle in the far distance. Irrationality takes over and I think to myself, I'm going to get in my truck, drive to the train tracks, lay down on the tracks and let the train sever my legs. Then I'll be able to get some rest! Just started with new drug regimen that includes 2mg of ropinerole at night. I couldn't figure out why I am constantly hungry(I've gained 10 lbs. thus far) but I get such bad nausea and dizziness after I take my pill at night that I have to lie down and rock my body in bed for relief - it seems worse than the nausea associated with chemo! Anyway, just putting my 2 cents in and blowing off some steam! Thanks for listening and may God bless you with a restful sleep! Nightowl

ViewsAskew

Post by ViewsAskew »

Hi Nightowl,

Welcome. Forgive me for moving your post; I was afraid it might not be seen where it was and wanted to make sure you received replies.

Nausea can be a problem....first, if you are new to Ropinerole, how quickly did you get to 2 mg? Second, is it working?

If it's not working well, there are other choices. Mirapex has recently been found, based on a couple of research studies, to be a slightly better choice than Requip. So, if you are having problems with Requip, Mirapex is definitely worth a try.