Hullo... I'm a restless newbie!

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Doxigrafix

Hullo... I'm a restless newbie!

Post by Doxigrafix »

I went up to bed a couple hours ago, but now I'm back up. My &%$# legs started in again with that drive-me-out-of-my-mind electric aching. I tried to go to sleep but there was just no way! It is absolutely horrible! And so I came trudging down once again to avoid disturbing my husband, with my dear little Boyz, my dachshunds, following me like the good friends they are.

Oh, pardon me for not introducing myself. My name is Julie. I am a mean old harridan with RLS. My handle, Doxigrafix, comes from my dogs plus I am a self-taught graphic designer.

I am feeling quite frustrated... like the RLS is one more blasted thing going wrong with this rotten old body! I am currently looking for a job. Only... I am 51 and the job market in this area is very poor, especially if one is over 50 and has no degree. I cannot work in my chosen field (nursing) due to pain from chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia, and now I am finding "sit-down" work intolerable due to the RLS! What does that leave? Minimum wage? I cannot stand for long periods, so that leaves out fast food joints (let me assure you that I do NOT think I am too good to sell burgers!) and I can't lift to stock shelves.

I think RLS needs more attention. Surely some celebrity must have it! May I suggest that RLS have a support ribbon too? It should be the shape of a ribbon, but instead of a ribbon it is two little crossed legs tied in knots. What do you think?
:roll:

ViewsAskew

Post by ViewsAskew »