My first post

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Erik M3

My first post

Post by Erik M3 »

Wow , is all I have to say. I thought for years and years I was the only one on the planet whose legs screamed in agony every night. I had this start in my late teens (I am now 37) and I suffer terribly. I was DX w/RLS a few years ago and hence have been sent on a misguided adventure into the medical world w/ little to no relief. The sad thing is I am a medical professional. I feel if I cant get help who can. My tx have been haphazard at best. I have been on Neurotin, Depakote, Triliptal and lastly this Mirapix (sic) I was on 1 and 1/2 mg to no real relief. I have no real supportive dr currently since my last one that really wanted to help is awaiting a long prison stint. He took me off all these crazy psych meds that drove my wife nuts cuz she said I acted like a zombie and put me on Methadone 20 mg bid. I have never felt better, I immed lost 25 lbs and was now a solid 210 lbs, I am 6 ft so ... I resumed running 3 miles a day and doing some gym work , basically I was living again, instead of walking the cul de sac at all hours of the night and falling asleep during the day like while driving. Now he is gone and I am back at step one, these dr want to start me on all the crap I was on before that didnt work. They recoil in horror when I say painkillers in low doses work 100% for me, they think I am a junkie I guess so they say "ok lets try neurotin again but double the dose. I want to cry. Why wont dr listen to their pts instead of just doing what they think will work for me ? I dont know how much longer I can go on w/ this agony at 3:00 am and then try to keep a career and family together while getting by on 2 hours sleep a night. I am back to looking like hell, gaining weight and