I New Here.

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
Gale103

I New Here.

Post by Gale103 »

Hello ,
This is my first time to join a forum about my restless leg issues. I have had rls for about 20yrs. I am now 57. I have taken many medications for my restless leg. All work for awhile. Then gradually symptoms would reappear. I was referred to my first neurologist in July. I was given 600mg of a drug called Horizant. That worked for about 4 months and the it was back. Now I'm taking 1200mg of this drug and I'm already getting restless leg back. It occurs sometimes once a week sometimes more. For the last year I've noticed most of my symptoms are in my feet. I joined this group to educate myself on different ways to relieve my restless leg and have a group of people that actually can understand how horrible this is to live with. I hope to learn a lot here.

jul2873

Re: I New Here.

Post by jul2873 »

Hi Gale,

I'm so sorry you've been dealing with this horrible disease all on your own for so long, but welcome to our message boards! It sounds like you've tried almost everything. I use a plant called kratom to manage my RLS. It is the powdered leaf of the kratom tree, from South East Asia, and available on the internet. I think it functions like a mild opioid. If you search these boards you'll find lots of info about it. It is illegal in Vermont, Wisconsin, Indiana, Tennessee, and Alabama, although we are working hard to change that. Good luck to you!

Rustsmith

Post by Rustsmith »

First off, welcome to the group. As you deduced, we all understand what you are experiencing since we all have to live with this nightmare.