New person from Maryland

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.
jerilyn

New person from Maryland

Post by jerilyn »

Hi, I'm new to the whole posting on bulletin or discussion boards, so I hope I'm doing this right. Anyway I've have had RLS for years (since my 30s) and was officially diagnosed with RLS and put on medication around 2006 or 2007. Now the medicine I've been on Requip has augmented and the Mirapex my neurologist switched me to has also augmented. So now I'm on a tapering off of RLS medicine and I've still have to go through 10 days of no medication after the tapering is over. I'm down to two pills a night, soon to go to one pill a night and then every other night and then none. So that's why I'm up at 1:21 am. I hate this terrible disease, it has changed my whole life. Will this tapering off of the medication make things better and can those who have done it let me know how they made it. I'm having a hard time right now. :( Guess I just want to know if there is any light at the end of this dark tunnel?

Polar Bear

Re: New person from Maryland

Post by Polar Bear »

Hi jerilyn, and welcome.
You are on the right road getting off DAs aftr having augmented. You don't mention what dosage you are tapering down from.
There are varying opinions on how to come off a DA. Some experts consider the taper as you are doing, also a very slow taper, others consider cold turkey to be the way to go.
I'm wondering did your neurologist discuss prescribing a different type of medication to ease the journey off the Mirapex (DA). It looks like his plan is for you to be totally free of any medication before continuing treatment.

Do you and your neurologist have a treatment plan for when the ten days without medication is up?