New member to RLS

Whether new to RLS or new to the site, we welcome you and invite you to share your history and experiences with RLS/WED, introduce yourself, and ask questions. Successful treatment starts with a solid understanding of this disease.

New member to RLS

Post by Guest »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the message board all because of a strange coincidence that happened yesterday. A phone number popped up on my cell phone and when I went to do a search for who belonged to that phone number on the internet, it led me straight to the RLS.org website. What's ironic about it all is that I have PLMD and the RLS.org website is the closest I've come to any type of support for my condition. No one has my cell phone number other than my husband. I only use it to call him when he's working out in the field but he was home last night when my phone rang. I didn't answer it because I didn't recognize the phone number. Strange how that unknown phone number led me to the RLS.org website.

Anyway - on with my introduction:
I was diagnosed earlier this year with PLMD - Periodic Limb Movement Disorder. I also have some other health problems, too, but here lately my PLMD has been a bit hard to manage even being on ReQuip. I've found out that I must take my medicine at the same time every night and that I better eat a small snack when taking the ReQuip, too. Otherwise the nausea is almost unbearable. It's the only side effect I have if I do not eat a snack. I can't sit for very long. I have to stand up and stretch or walk around. I get plenty of daily exercise from walking my Greyhounds around our acre of land. I try and eat right and I try to go to bed at the same time every night regardless.