Nicotine Mints - Personal Success

Here you can share your experiences with substances that are ingested, inhaled, or otherwise consumed for the purpose of relieving RLS, other than prescription medications. For example, herbal remedies, nutritional supplements, diet, kratom, and marijuana (for now) should be discussed here. Tell others of successes, failures, side effects, and any known research on these substances. [Posts on these subjects created prior to 2009 are in the Physical Treatments forum.]

Important: Posts and information in this section are based on personal experiences and recommendations; they should not be considered a substitute for the advice of a healthcare provider.
XenMan

Nicotine Mints - Personal Success

Post by XenMan »

As the title says, I found nicotine mints helpful for RLS, although I would advise caution.

My background is simple, change of diet around 8 years ago at 42 to keto, started to get what I thought were calf cramps at night, solved with a simple stretch. Then I went into extreme fat loss mode and used nicotine mints and gum to assist, which may have exacerbated RLS; not sure.

RLS was intermittent, inconsistent and easily solved with some water, a stretch or elevated legs against the wall for 5 mins or so. It was hard to explain to other people, as it wasn’t a cramp but a sort of half cramp that although not painful, was very unpleasant and disruptive to sleep.

I’ve had lots of placebos over the years that seemed to help, and then wouldn’t, which included avoiding cayenne pepper which I consume heaps of (after reading that it lowers blood salt), avoiding omega 6 from nuts, supplementing the minerals in electrolytes, huge salt consumption, huge water consumption before bed and during the night. The strange thing was, these things would work for a week or so and then no longer. I thought my existing tenuous grip on reality was descending into true madness.