Oral Iron instead of meds?

Here you can share your experiences with substances that are ingested, inhaled, or otherwise consumed for the purpose of relieving RLS, other than prescription medications. For example, herbal remedies, nutritional supplements, diet, kratom, and marijuana (for now) should be discussed here. Tell others of successes, failures, side effects, and any known research on these substances. [Posts on these subjects created prior to 2009 are in the Physical Treatments forum.]

Important: Posts and information in this section are based on personal experiences and recommendations; they should not be considered a substitute for the advice of a healthcare provider.
meiatflask

Oral Iron instead of meds?

Post by meiatflask »

I have been reading a lot about iron including some technical journal articles, and have attended a webinar. This has me thinking, but a bit of background before my question.

My background is that I have been tried numerous of the medications, most success in relieving symptoms with ropinirole or pramipexole. I am currently using pramipexole, for the past 8 months or so (had been taking ropinirole for a couple years before I switched) I had low ferritin first tested 11 months ago, began taking oral iron x2 +C daily, which increased my ferritin levels. I have continued taking the pramipexole. Symptoms are much reduced, I am in a “good period”, but still have occasional bad evenings.

My question is this: the research studies typically (but not always) have the patient stop using prescription medication when they begin taking iron, be it oral or IV. I have never considered iron as a replacement for meds, but only as a supplement to be taken in addition to the meds. Am I wrong here? Should I consider quitting my meds and only taking the iron? I am willing to give it a try, but thought I would reach out to the group first.