Looking for natural treatments

Here you can share your experiences with substances that are ingested, inhaled, or otherwise consumed for the purpose of relieving RLS, other than prescription medications. For example, herbal remedies, nutritional supplements, diet, kratom, and marijuana (for now) should be discussed here. Tell others of successes, failures, side effects, and any known research on these substances. [Posts on these subjects created prior to 2009 are in the Physical Treatments forum.]

Important: Posts and information in this section are based on personal experiences and recommendations; they should not be considered a substitute for the advice of a healthcare provider.
Timfitzgerald96

Looking for natural treatments

Post by Timfitzgerald96 »

I am a combat veteran with severe lower spine injuries
Which I was told by VA is the cause for my RSL and of course wanted to put me on meds for it. Well! I said no. Before being medically retired they had me on 25 pills a night. Since I ah e gone down to Two, Xartemis ER (pain) Zanaflex ( muscle relaxer)
Does it make my day peachy? Nope but takes enough away that I can function ish! So now I need help. As a beginner in natural therapy's what should I try first?

Rustsmith

Re: Possible cure?

Post by Rustsmith »

The first thing that you need to do is get your ferritin levels checked. Ferritin is a type of iron protein in the blood stream and it is the form that is responsible for transferring iron across the blood brain barrier. This is important because iron is a precursor necessary for the formation of dopamine. And low levels of dopamine are part of the cause of RLS symptoms. If your ferritin levels are below 100 (ask for the number, don't accept that they are normal), then taking an iron supplement such as iron sulfate with vitamin C on an empty stomach can help increase ferritin over a period of a couple of weeks.