RLS after back injury

RLS occurs more frequently in certain populations, including people with end-stage renal disease, women during pregnancy, and people with iron deficiency. Also, RLS/WED in the elderly and children brings other challenges. Sharing your experiences may be extraordinarily helpful to others.
curlykay18

RLS after back injury

Post by curlykay18 »

Hello, I am new to this and need help. I had a back injury, L5-S1 disc, and soon after notice the RLS symptoms. I have had blood work showing everything is fine and not contributing to the RLS. I have no family history of RLS. I have read back injuries can cause or worsen RLS but there is little medical documentation on this. Can anyone help me find documentation or confirm their RLS has occurred since an injury. Thanks so much for your help!

tazzer

Post by tazzer »

you need to ask our jan she is our back surgery expert...she can no longer pass through metal detectors and magnets jump all over her :D

seriously jan had a very major back operation and is still recovering i think she is the one best qualified to answer your question.

good luck dee
I feel like a science project!!!

“The syndrome is so common that it should be known to every physician.”
Dr Karl Ekbom, 1945

jan3213

Post by jan3213 »

Hi curlykay

I'm Jan, the person who has just had back sugery. I know that back injuries and back surgery can cause RLS. However, I have primary RLS (inherited). Secondary RLS means that you have contracted RLS because of trauma to your body as a result of something like a back injury or broken leg, etc., or even pregnancy.