New to Forum - Cutting Pills

Use this section to discuss your experiences with prescription drugs, iron injections, and other medical interventions that involve the introduction of a drug or medicine into the body. Discuss side effects, successes, failures, published research, information about drug trials, and information about new medications being developed.

Important: Posts and information in this section are based on personal experiences and recommendations; they should not be considered a substitute for the advice of a healthcare provider.
Lois E

New to Forum - Cutting Pills

Post by Lois E »

Hi,
I am new to the RLS Forum, but not new to RLS. I had been taking Mirapex for years with the use of Calcium, Magnesium, Iron and Vitamin B. My health insurance changed and I can't get Mirapex any longer but am now on Requip. I think my neuro started me to high and want to half the pills. He has me on 1 mg and I am doing well with it but would rather try a lower dose. I also have a rare spinal cord disorder, am wheelchair bound, and take a bunch of other meds including Neuronten. I just don't want to add a higher dose if I can sail with a lower one. I tried splitting them with a pill cutter which I have used on other meds for years but these things just don't work with it. Can someone please help.
Thanks a bunch,
Lois

ViewsAskew

Post by ViewsAskew »

They are hard to cut. Some people have had luck with a pill-cutter, but I don't know which kind.

I wonder if your doctor would prescribe a different dose - ie .25 mg tabs instead of 1 mg. Then, you wouldn't have to cut them! Of course, that means telling the doc what you want to do and they don't always like it when you want to play with dosages.
Ann - Take what you need, leave the rest

Managing Your RLS

Opinions presented by Discussion Board Moderators are personal in nature and do not, in any way, represent the opinion of the RLS Foundation, and are not medical advice.

ctravel12

new to forum - cutting pills