Life long suffering

Use this section to discuss your experiences with prescription drugs, iron injections, and other medical interventions that involve the introduction of a drug or medicine into the body. Discuss side effects, successes, failures, published research, information about drug trials, and information about new medications being developed.

Important: Posts and information in this section are based on personal experiences and recommendations; they should not be considered a substitute for the advice of a healthcare provider.
burkej1h

Life long suffering

Post by burkej1h »

Last edited by burkej1h on Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Neco

Post by Neco »

Sinemet CR is a controlled release form of sinemet, so that is why it is double the standard dose. However if your have RLS every day, all day long, I would NOT take this medication..

I have no experience with controlled release forms, but most of us here would NOT touch Sinemet with a 10 foot pole, in an environment suit, from inside a plastic bubble 8) :lol:

It's good that he recognized its RLS, but if you are having symptoms every day, he clearly did not understand that, and/or has not kept up on modern research. Practically everyone Sinemet is given to augments, except for a small population, and while I don't know if that changes with Sinemet CR (the theory being controlled release at a lower constant dose, holds off augmentation) I still can not in good concience tell you to take it. If everyone in the world had RLS, that drug would be branded a form of torture.

Dopamine Agonists (Requip or Mirapex) are often the front line drugs for RLS that occurs with great frequency. Neurontin and Lyrica also are used as front/second-line drugs, as well as some benzo's.. Benzo's are more of a knock you out thing, as opposed to treating the symptoms though, but some people do report they improve the severity.