I'm scared. Please help.

For everything and anything else not covered in the other RLS sections.
Rachel

I'm scared. Please help.

Post by Rachel »

I have my appt. with the RLS doctor in about 8 hours.

I'm pretty sure I'm augmenting on my Mirapex again. The last time the doc put me on Requip for a drug holiday. The Requip worked but made me so nauseous. I just don't want to go back on the Requip.

I'm so scared right now sitting here. What if my doctor isn't as good/understanding/knowledgeable as I think he is?

I've been so fortunate. I've never gotten to the stage where DA's haven't worked!!!

I'm a teacher. What if he gives me something so powerful that I can't think to teach right?

I'm scared of this disease. But I'm more scared that I will walk out of the doctor's office back to feeling hopeless. What if he tells me he can't help me? What if he turns into a jerk like some of the doctors that I read about here?

In my head I know these thoughts are irrational. But there's always that fear and I hate it.

Someone please talk to me.

Rachel

SquirmingSusan

Post by SquirmingSusan »

Rachel,

By now you've had your appointment - how did it go? I can sure understand why you wouldn't want to go back on Requip - I had a terrible experience with that drug.

There are many other options besides the DAs, and some can be quite effective with not a lot of side effects.

Be sure and read the Mayo Clinic Algorithm and arm yourself with knowledge. That way you can advocate for the best treatment for yourself.

Susan

Rachel

How has Darvocet worked for you?

Post by Rachel »

Hey Susan,

It didn't go as badly as I had expected, but it was . . . interesting.

Coincidentally, I thought I could refill my Ambien the night before, get to the pharmacy, NO MORE REFILLS! Absolute panic.

Go home, take 1200 mg of Neurontin because I know it will help me sleep. Well, I knew wrong. I was up most of the night.

So I go into the appt. with no sleep and still hung over on Neurontin.