RLS only in the arms?

For everything and anything else not covered in the other RLS sections.
Boblob

RLS only in the arms?

Post by Boblob »

I have symptoms that sound exactly like RLS....EXCEPT, it is ONLY in my arms. I don't have any symptoms in my legs. Much of the literature I can find mentions the arms as possibly being affected, but I haven't found any mention of this being in the arms but not the legs.

Does anyone have any thoughts or ideas?

Thanks.

jan3213

Welcome Bob

Post by jan3213 »

Hi, it's Jan

Bob, do you have a creepy crawly sensation in your arms???? It is something like "bugs" crawling inside? Does it help to move your arms? Does the sensation in your arms keep you from sleeping at night? I haven't heard of RLS beginning in your arms, but I'm no expert. Have you checked with a doctor to see if it RLS?? I have RLS in my arms as well as my legs. It did start in my legs, but my arms have been affected for several years. I have had RLS for over 20 years.

At the top of this page, under the heading "I Have Restless Legs" you will find a description of RLS. Please let us know how you are. In the meantime, you have found a great website! There are a lot of wonderful people here who are ready, willing and able to answer any questions you have. I'm sure someone else will see your post and offer some suggestions, etc.

Good luck!

Jan
No one is alone who had friends.

restless arms

Post by restless arms »

Wow! Boblong, you deserve a place in the RLS Museum if it existed.
I'm sorry you have RLS, but as Jan said, it is very rare to have it "only" in the arms.
Please read below and you will believe me.
Corrie

Arch Neurol. 2003 Jul;60(7):1013-5. Related Articles, Links

Arm restlessness as the initial symptom in restless legs syndrome.

Freedom T, Merchut MP.

Department of Neurology, Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, IL 60153, USA. tfreedo@lumc.edu