Uninformed Doctors

For everything and anything else not covered in the other RLS sections.
madash1014

Uninformed Doctors

Post by madash1014 »

Good morning all! I'm new to the foundation but excited to have found it after a very frustrating experience with my Dr. yesterday. I have been diagonsed with RLS for about ten years after having a sleep study done. I originally was prescribed cinamet (sp?) but it became ineffective have a period of time. I was changed to requip and loved it for the first couple of years. but again it seems to be losing its effectivness. my symptoms are appearing earlier and earlier. I dread afternoon meetings because I can hardly keep my legs still. I thrash around so much at night that I shread my sheets about every three months and have to replace them. My poor husband is about ready to start sleeping in the guest room just to get a good nights sleep because I keep him up everynight. My Dr recently retired and I went to my new Dr. yesterday to see if there is anything new I can take or perhaps change my requip dosage although it already makes me nausiated at the dosage I'm taking. She told me that if I knew anything about RLS I would know that it is a sleep disorder and if it bothers me while I'm awake, its not RLS. I should do leg stretches before bed and should be fine. She would not even refil my Rx for requip because she doesn't think I have RLS and my previous Dr just put it in my head. I left in tears because I am absolutely miserable and my Dr just blew me off and acted like I am crazy. I'm so tired of uninformed Dr's. So I am on a quest to find a new one. Any advise on how to find one that actually knows something about RLS? Im bound by the Dr's included in my insurance plan.
"The wicked flee when no man pursueth but the rightous are bold as a lion. In valor there is hope and heros live forever" - The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial

Neco

Post by Neco »

First off,