I am new to RLS - or new to the diagnosis anyway!

For everything and anything else not covered in the other RLS sections.
Anonymous

I am new to RLS - or new to the diagnosis anyway!

Post by Anonymous »

HI - I JUST RAN ACROSS THIS WEBSITE WHILE I WAS LOOKING FOR HOME REMEDIES FOR LEG CRAMPS ON THE INTERNET. IT IS 4 IN THE MORNING AND ONCE AGAIN I AM WIDE AWAKE AND AFTER WALKING AROUND AND SOAKING IN WATER AS HOT AS I CAN STAND IT, I AM STILL ALL CRAMPED UP.

I WAS JUST DIAGNOSED WITH RLS LAST FALL. I DON'T REALLY KNOW MUCH ABOUT IT OTHER THAN WHAT MY DOCTOR TOLD ME - JUST GENERAL INFORMATION. I AM PRESCRIBED 2MG OF KLONOPIN THAT I AM SUPPOSED TO TAKE EVERY NIGHT - DOC SAYS THAT WILL CALM MY LEGS DOWN SO I CAN SLEEP. THE PROBLEM IS - IF I TAKE 2MG OF KLONOPIN AT NIGHT I CAN'T WAKE UP IN THE MORNING. I AM A PHARMACY STUDENT AND I HAVE A PHARMACOLOGY CLASS AT 8 IN THE MORNING SO I CAN'T DO THAT.

WHEN I TOLD THE DOC ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH THE DOSE, HE SAID IT WAS PROBABLY BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN SO SLEEP DEPRIVED FOR SO MANY YEARS. HE ALSO TOLD ME TO INCREASE MY DOSE GRADUALLY UNTIL I CAN TOLERATE IT.

OF COURSE, THE PROBLEM RIGHT NOW IS THAT I AM APPARENTLY NOT TAKING ENOUGH OF THE DRUG TO GET THE WANTED EFFECT. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY GOOD SUGGESTIONS FOR DEALING WITH THE CRAMPING THAT I WILL BE PUTTING UP WITH IN THE MEANTIME?

THIS LOOKS LIKE A REALLY NICE SITE - I READ THROUGH A FEW OF THE RECENT POSTS. I WOULD LOVE TO TALK TO ANYONE ABOUT SUGGESTIONS DEALING WITH RLS AS WELL AS ANY YOUNGER PEOPLE OUT THERE - I AM 28 YEARS OLD AND IT SEEMS THAT MOST OF THE INFORMATION I HAVE FOUND ON THE INTERNET IS ABOUT RLS AND ELDELY PATIENTS. MAYBE I AM LOOKING IN THE WRONG PLACE - I THOUGHT RLS COULD AFFECT ANYBODY???

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY OF YOUR SUGGESTIONS.

BARB[/b]

Sara

Post by Sara »

Hi, Barb, and welcome!

Sorry you're suffering, but I think you'll find a lot of the information and support you're looking for here. I sure have.